AS HIS EYE SEES IT

Josiah Emsley wants people to see how he sees. No computer editing, no Photoshop. Josiah takes shots to make visible his unique experience.

How do you approach taking pictures?

Like a cub, to catch them, and if they see me, they don’t change, because they don’t mind what I see.

Josiah is about to earn his BA in Product Design at Central Saint Martins, London. He started pursuing photography in a more refined manner after a project he did in his second year where he designed a camera for Harley Davidson. From then on he bought cameras and developed his work.

What kind of camera do you use?

Majority of film shots, I use an old Minolta x300 with a special faulty lens – it says it’s a 50mm, but it’s definitely not, it’s closer to a 30mm, which would have been a lot more expensive than the £20 I paid for it! For digital shots I use a Canon Rebel T1i (500D) with a 30mm 1:1.4 lens. Then I like to have fun with different formatted film cameras.

What role does photography play in your life, and industrial design?

To satisfy. It feels good to get a nice shot, especially when something about the shot I can relate to personally. It’s a tool I will use for a bit of money between things, but mostly just for myself. Industrial design wise, it doesn’t help me, it just helps others see how I see.

___________________________________________________________________________

No matter what the subject, it is when he is able to capture through the camera how he interprets the world that his work is fulfilled. He enjoys surprising himself with the solution, then,

refining the tiny details that no-one else will ever see but make me feel like I have done it perfectly, and if they dooo look, then they will be pleasantly surprised.

And what is your process?

[The most challenging part is] doing is for someone else, past the point where I have done it for myself…I tackle a project, I do work, I do a lot of thinking in my head, I do some more work, then I come to a point where I resolve it all, but haven’t tangibly completed ever stage required – it’s annoying have to do that – but, that’s just whilst I am at school, where the point of working isn’t for the end result, but just to prove I can learn and understand a process.

After graduation?

[I am going to pursue] lots of little paths. Mainly to live in a few different countries in the next year, to learn cultures I aspire to, so that I can apply different thought types to future solutions…

(image titles added by Noumena)

And what do you want to improve on?

[The] ability to culturally alter at my own demand. That’s what I want.


Access his website at http://josiahemsley.com or his blog at http://whiteshoes.tumblr.com


Leave a Reply

