HONORED PETER, QUERIED

I Want to Call her Father

to talk

the Man

no longer Mister

only Peter

and Suddenly, I’m frank.


The Man is Great.

He Lives the Life

of a Great Man

and Meticulously maintains

his Flaws and Holes

and Imperfections

through which I can see

Clear

Clear to the Other side.


I can See.

I See daughters and sons

and Wives

and Past Lives,

and I Want to ask,

Why?


To be sat in his kitchen

He and I

To Read His Face

when He calls Me,

Son,

and Tells Me

Why.


I Need to Know.

For I

have Begun to Harvest

and Grow

Such Holes

that Need Only Open Space

to Grow

and Time.

Open Space

and Misspent Time.


So Tell me Why!


Then I Will Know

at what Expense

do these Holes Grow;

how Steep the Cost

of a Great Man’s Life.


To Surrender My Bare Chest

to this Open Space

around us?

To Dissolve into the Rest

like My Father For

My Brother?

All for the Sake

of

Daughter.


Then I Will Decide

if it be Wise

and Prudent

to Live

under a Great Man’s Guise.


and yet


Cursed as I Am,

I’ll Cast My Learning

All Aside,

and Honor Peter

and My Father,

and Set out to Live

A Great Man’s Life.

by Omar Ahmed

One Response to “HONORED PETER, QUERIED”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    awesome

Leave a Reply

