HAIKU

There is some…contention…surrounding whether contractions are appropriate to use in haiku. To that I can do nothing but attest to the bizarre nature in which this Biblical piece came about – being what you might call the opposite of religious – and so I find myself loathe to change anything.

Sodom (our Lot in life)

don’t look back,” he says

strong hand taking mine, we run

but i have to know

It’s probably garbage. When I woke up this morning, for whatever reason, I was thinking about curiosity – so strong as to defy logic – and the haiku poured forth in the ensuing seconds before I fully had time to really grasp what was happening.


By James Simone

Leave a Reply

